Hello friends ,

I recently was put on a job that is using a topcon ds105 ac robotic total station and I am fairly new in using a robotic total station. The issue that I am having with this total station is that it doesn't have the traditional lock/ gear mechanism like the older topcons (gts models). All I am trying to do is set up on a point 0 set another point and turn 180 over a long distance to add a control point using a plastic target card . My problem is over a long distance it is near impossible to old the angle at 180 or zero with out being able to lock the total station. Does any one know if it possible to lock this particle total stations motor to hold an angle ? This station is almost identical to the sokkia sx models if anyone has any experience in those as well.
Thanks for the help

This Content Originally Published by a land surveyor to Land Surveyors United Network

Views: 316

See Your Saved Posts Timeline

☇ Reply to this

Replies to This Discussion

This is the closest thing I can find in the manual. The easiest way in those situations is to use as a manual total station. What collector and software are you using? I do not believe you can lock the angle like older total stations due to it being motorized (you would risk damaging the motors with a traditional H or V lock).

Gary thanks for the response . We are using a topcon rc-5000 data collector with magnet field software
We don't use the DS, however, we us 9003, QS, PS, and GT Topcon robots and either Panasonic ToughPad FZ-G1 or FC-5000 collectors, all running Magnet.