Show us why the public should always call a land surveyor

Where are you surveying?

🌐 Show Forums for All Locations
Land Surveyor Community

One Man Surveying

So......I've been working in this business for a few decades.  I've been a member of a 4 man crew, 3 man crew, most typically a 2 man crew, and now, for the last 10 years, a one man crew.

Robots and GPS have been around for enough time that they are both considered "conventional".

My question.........Is a one man crew truly efficient?

You need to be a member of Land Surveyors United - Global Surveying Community to add thoughts!

Join Land Surveyors United - Global Surveying Community

Votes: 0
Email me when people reply –

Replies

• I thank everybody for their input. It's been great hearing everyone's opinion. I have to admit that not having to worry about another person in the field is sometimes a godsend. But there are many times when I need another person. Robots are great...but they can't see everything...and GPS is still only centimeter accurate if you're in ideal conditions. My gut feeling is that I can accomplish the same with or without another person....but this is all job dependant. I just feel that it is wrong for an employer to assume that EVERY job is a one man job....cuz anyone who's done the one man thing long enough knows that not every job can or should be done alone.
    • Land Surveyor

Employer.

• Land Surveyor

Rob you know what your doing. I am same. We can do any job alone sometimes we do need help. Im like you. Just have to find a firm cares about what you know. I did the my own thing. Lost all I had. not sure how we go on

• Thanks for the replies. I can relate to them. It seems that we all have had similar experiences and think alike.
    • Land Surveyor