So......I've been working in this business for a few decades.  I've been a member of a 4 man crew, 3 man crew, most typically a 2 man crew, and now, for the last 10 years, a one man crew.

Robots and GPS have been around for enough time that they are both considered "conventional".

My question.........Is a one man crew truly efficient?

This Content Originally Published by a land surveyor to Land Surveyors United Network

Views: 1463

See Your Saved Posts Timeline

☇ Reply to this

Replies to This Discussion

I say would 'no' to a one man crew unless its a construction project with 3 or less setups a day.  I haven't run the robots but the few conversations i've had with folks made it sound like it would wear you out on boundaries with multiple setups. This is coming from folks that enjoy working alone. I would prefer a 3 man crew but its been years since i've had that on a consistent basis. One main brain, one training brain, and some brawn that understands how to follow instructions is the most efficient... I had the opportunity to work with two other guys that had decades of experience beyond me earlier this year... It wasn't very efficient because we all had our nuances but kept deflecting to each other. All i could say to them was that were too many brains on this job. 

They can be efficient for open jobs, we typically use a one man crew for elevation certificates, stake out, and setting corners. It allows for people to remain at the office, especially being short staffed. However we typically run a two man crew with a robot, and while one guy sketches and tapes the house, the other is shooting the detail, but has someone to help in a hard situation, or to move legs forward, and swap glass out. It cuts our field work time dramatically.  

Of course not.

If you are in the bush working, who´s gone help you, if you have an accident.

Our job some times,well,  i think all most of time is pretty risky.

Who help´s you with the stake out. Or to aim for example.